And here we go….

This is my introductory post in my new blog specifically designed to talk to other military spouses uprooted from previous careers to find themselves wondering if  the writing life is for them. I was one of those people (not just women because there are a lot of men out there, too) who had a career and a path. And I was moving right along on said path at a happy and swift rate. Until I met my future husband…

I didn’t know much about the military life before I met him. I had intentionally avoided the whole military scene and wanted no part of it. But it’s true what they say about true love…you’ll give up pretty much the whole farm just to be with your soul mate.

I was not the youngest bride. I waited a very long time to meet my perfect match. And I would have said whatever it took for us to be together. I’m sure many of you felt the same way. No one really told us what we were getting into when we signed up, right? I mean they tried…but we were practically deaf and blind by love.

The truth is, no one could have told us everything about being a military spouse. There’s just way too much to tell. I knew I would eventually have to give up my career…the first PCS would take care of that. I knew I’d have to move several times, making it difficult to make and keep friends. I knew that my life would be completely different in more ways than I could imagine. But those are just words. They don’t convey the emotions that go along with all of that. That’s what surprised me most. I thought this journey would be the most exhilarating of my life…and it is. But it hasn’t been a bowl of cherries!

But, it’s an adventure. I’ve been sad and depressed. I’ve gained and lost weight. I’ve lost myself and then found myself. I’ve discovered things about myself I either never knew or just forgot about. I’ve let go of the old and grabbed on to a brand new me. It’s really the most adventurous ride I’ve ever been on.

2010 marks a brand new start for me in more ways than one. I’ve just ventured out on my own as a professional copywriter and I’m very proud to announce the launch of my brand new website: www.jmcordell.com

I’m on a new path full of bright, shiny ideas and dreams. I’ve finally gotten myself to the place I always needed to be. This blog is my journey. Along the way I would love to have some company while I share lessons learned, pitfalls avoided, or not avoided, strategies to improve your life and anything else that comes along. I hope that this blog will be an inspiration to all the military spouses out there who are still trying to figure out what’s next.

If that is you, I just want to tell you to relax. Remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day.  And a brand new future isn’t something you want to rush anyway. Take a little time for yourself and explore everything you think you might be interested in. I didn’t just rush into my writing career. I took some time off. I went back to school…which is a really great place to start.

Until next time….

Published in: on January 7, 2010 at 3:44 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmcordell.wordpress.com/2010/01/07/and-here-we-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

