The Voice in the Dark…

Have you ever been sleeping deeply, enjoying your dream, and then rudely awakened by someone calling your name? You sit straight up in bed and look around and realize there’s no one else in the room.  So who shouted your name? Have you ever had that happen?

Well it happened to me a few nights ago. Luckily, that kind of thing does not happen often. But it happened the other night. I was deep in a dream. Then, out of nowhere, a man’s voice shouted “Jodie!” My eyes popped open, I completely forgot about the dream I was having, and I looked around the room trying to find the source of the voice. But then I realized my husband is still away and it couldn’t have been him.

It was that moment that I started to feel creeped out. I mean, if it was a person in my house other than my husband, that would be bad. But if it wasn’t an actual person then, where did the voice come from?  Was it my subconscious mind warning me? Or some spirits in my house trying to get my attention? Or was it some part of my ‘collective subconscious’ trying to impart some wisdom to me.  I’m not sure if I believe in all things supernatural but there is far too much evidence for me to discount all of it. So, which is it? My subconscious, my ‘collective subconscious,’ or a supernatural being? Or is it something else altogether….

The answer to that question haunted me for the rest of the morning. I did not go back to sleep.  Instead, I got up out of bed, came down to my office and started writing. I felt like I needed to write.  So I did.

What would you do?

Published in: on February 8, 2010 at 2:15 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmcordell.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/the-voice-in-the-dark/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, in the Bible, God calls Samuel audibly three times, waking him up. It’s a little funny in that Samuel thinks Eli, his mentor, is the one calling him. But after it happens three times, Eli figures it out. He tells Samuel “Go, lie down, and if he calls you, say ‘Speak, Lord, for your servant hears.'” Check it out in 1 Samuel 3.
    I’d be very interested to know what response you get if you say that too!

    • Hahahaha! Yes, I’d be interested to know what would happen if I said that, too!

  2. Great! 🙂


Leave a Reply

